Skip to content

My Favorite Image – World Cup Edition

June 22, 2010

I haven’t gotten to watch too much of the World Cup. I have gotten to see the U.S. matches and the parts of the odd match. A full time job and a three month old takes up quite a bit of time. I do consider myself fortunate to have seen New Zealand tie Italy. I barely remember any of the action, but the image of Mark Paston enjoying the game of his life will stick with me.

I rarely see professional athletes bask in the moment as it happens. Keeping extreme focus is difficult and any little smile may be the first sign of weakness. Paston knew he was playing in the biggest game and had just stopped cold another Italian shot. Instead of barking out orders and arranging the defense, he chose to smile.

Just Smile

One Comment leave one →
  1. Loves me some Schelotto permalink
    June 24, 2010 7:05 am

    Oh Landon!! You can blow on my vuvuzella anytime.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

