Skip to content

Olympics – Crew Style

August 7, 2008

I got up extra early to catch the US hang on for a win against Japan. The US attack looked out of sync for most of the game, but I liked seeing Rogers creating chances on the left and was pleasantly surprised to see Marvell Wynn do the same on the right. Adu tried to jump start the offense, but I think he would be better suited to a role where he can find the seams in the defense and work off a couple strikers. This is a decent team, but I am not sure if they can get past a tough Dutch team and a talented Nigerian team.

I also noticed that another Crew player got some playing time as Emmanuel Ekpo got three minutes of action in Nigeria’s game against the Dutch. He even drew a foul that earned a red card. In addition to Rogers and Ekpo, there were a couple of Crew alumni playing. Danny Szetela and Simon Elliott played as well. That is not a bad midfield now that I think of it.

I probably won’t get a chance to watch too much soccer, but the online NBC Olympic site is really nice. I am sure I can even use it for other sports…

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

