Skip to content

National Spotlight

August 19, 2008

Since I have been focused on the great Crew season so far; I feel I haven’t shown enough attention to the national team. Barbados was not a real challenge, but the Olympics did hold my attention enough to get up at 5am, twice. As an aside, I still will have an eye on the gold medal game; we are all Nigerians now, at least Crew fans, or the ones not from Argentina. OK, let’s just say the Crew fans may have a rooting interest. Go Ekpo.

Oh yeah, back to the point. The U.S. National team is playing it’s first real test for the World Cup Qualifiers as they head down to Guatemala. Frankie Hejduk joins the team. I think it is an earned callup as he has had a pretty good season. He is still prone to the occasional silly foul, but he has settled well into his veteran leader role the last couple years in Columbus.

In addition to Hejduk, Bob Bradley has called in the usual assortment of players. I just hope not to see Landon Donovan on the wing or Eddie Johnson start. I do hope to see Maurice Edu or Ricardo Clark in the central midfield. I guess I am more ambivalent about the junior Bradley. I know he had a great season in the Netherlands, but I have not seen it lately for the national team. I expect the U.S. to pick up at least a tie, a win would be ideal.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

