Skip to content

de Guzman Speaks to Toronto Offer

July 7, 2009

Julian de Guzman put in a great performance in Canada’s 1-0 win against El Salvador on Tuesday. He is a visionary holding midfielder that really helped the Canadians win the battle of the midfield. He held possession and opened up the Salvadoran defense with his excellent dribbling and incisive passes. He would certainly make an impact in MLS if he completes his rumored move to Toronto. I had a chance to ask him about the possible move and his answer was very illuminating.

Toronto came up with a lucrative offer, but I haven’t made a decision yet, I want to stay true to myself and my eyes are still aiming towards Europe, preferably Spain. If anything comes up in the next couple of days, I could see myself staying in Europe.

I would be surprised if de Guzman comes home. He still may end up in Toronto, but his heart is obviously in Europe. I bet his agent is burning up the phone lines to find him a new team that does not involve coming to MLS. It is very hard to give up a dream.

No comments yet

Leave a Reply

